JFolder: :files: Path is not a folder. Path: /home/drum/public_html/images/stories/galleries/2017 Council


There was a problem rendering your image gallery. Please make sure that the folder you are using in the Simple Image Gallery Pro plugin tags exists and contains valid image files. The plugin could not locate the folder: images/stories/galleries/2017 Council

Drumheller's new town council was sworn in on Monday evening at Town Hall.
The group includes three new councillors: Kristyne DeMott, Tony Lacher and Fred Makowecki; along with three veterans: Jay Garbutt, Lisa Hansen-Zacharuk and Tom Zariski; and a new mayor, Heather Colberg.
"I'm so glad everybody was patient with me and so helpful," she said after the meeting. "You study this stuff, but once you go into the real world, it's a bit different."
So was the layout of Council Chambers, with one of two public presentation desks removed and with all councillors on one side of the horseshoe and administration on the other side.
"We talked about it and we thought if we opened it up a bit, it shows that we want to be more open as far as people being able to hear conversations," Colberg explained. "I decided to switch seating, with the rest of council, so that it's easier to talk with council when we're not having to turn sideways."
"We're going to do a strategic planning discussion this week, just to kind of get everybody's feedback," she continued. "We've got seven of us who all have different ideas of what they've heard throughout the election, so we want to make sure we're prioritising everything and doing the right thing for the people."
Colberg says she has one main goal for her four year term as Drumheller mayor.
"I seriously want us to end up being the friendliest, cleanest, most sought after community in Alberta."
The first item of business for the new council was the appointment of Stacey Gallagher, Clayton Gillis and Shelley Rymal to the Drumheller Municipal Planning Commission and the appointment of Karen Bertamini, Keith Hodgson and Eileen Lefley to the Subdivision and DevelopmentAppeal Board. In addition, Patrick and Catherine Bonneville were appointed to the Airport Commission and Elizabeth Gallagher was granted another term on the Drumheller Library Board.
In addition to the swearing in of new town councillors, Monday's meeting saw former councillors Pat Kolafa, Tara McMillan, Sharel Shoff and Terry Yemen given thank-you gifts for their service.
Questions, comments or story ideas? Email us at [email protected]

{gallery}galleries/2017 Council{/gallery}

More Local News

UPDATE 11 Avenue SE Blocked Off By RCMP

UPDATE; The bomb squad from Edmonton attended the scene, inspected the suspicious item and deemed it not to be explosive. Residents will be allowed back into the building later this evening. On…

Local Teacher Reflects on Notre Dame Fire

Many Canadians woke up on Monday morning to the news of the famous Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris, France was engulfed in flames. While the flames were miles away, the impact was still felt in the…

Morrin School Announces Hockey Program

On Tuesday, Morrin School Principal, Don Yavis, announced a new option for the junior high students where they will be able to learn about and participate in hockey.

Horner Dominates in Drumheller-Stettler

The people of the Drumheller-Stettler riding have had their voices heard with the Provincial Election last night and their voices selected Nathan Horner as their future MLA.

Nathan Horner Wins Drumheller-Stettler Riding

UCP candidate Nathan Horner has won the Drumheller-Stettler riding with a landslide of majority votes. With 96 polls reporting out of 102, Horner leads his closest rival, Independent Candidate Rick…

DrumhellerOnline.com is Drumheller's only source for community news and information such as weather and classifieds.

Search the Biz Guide